Berlin Institute for Applied Research (IFAF)

Since 2009, the Berlin Institute for Applied Research (Institut für angewandte Forschung Berlin) has brought together Berlin's four state-governed universities of applied science with the goal of bundling their wide-ranging research competences. It also seeks to support application-oriented cooperation projects which strengthen collaboration with SMEs in the region and promote the transfer of knowledge and technology.

Participating universities of applied sciences

  • Alice Salomon Hochschule (ASH Berlin)
  • Beuth Hochschule für Technik (Beuth Hochschule Berlin)
  • Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (HTW Berlin)
  • Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht (HWR Berlin)

The institute is funded by the Senate Chancellery for Science and Research of the Mayor of Berlin.